Databases

Register online for a BPL eCard to access more databases via the Boston Public Library

For an alphabetical list of databases with descriptions, click HERE

Databases Listed by Subject

Antiques | Automobiles | Biography | Books and authors | Business and investing | For children | Community groups | Computers/technology | Consumer information | E-books and E-audiobooks | Education and career | Encyclopedias | Genealogy | General reference | | Health and medicine | History | Languages | Law | Library catalogs | Magazine and journal articles | Music | Newspapers | Science | Test preparation

Antiques p4A Antiques Reference
Home access is limited to Acton residents.
Automobiles ChiltonLibrary.com
Home access is limited to Acton residents.
ConsumerReports.org
Home access is limited to Acton residents.
Biography Biography In Context
Books and authors Books & Authors
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Literature Resource Center
NoveList  
Business and investing Business Insights: Essentials
General BusinessFile ASAP
Hoovers
Home access is limited to Acton residents.
Morningstar Investment Research Center
Home access is limited to Acton residents
ReferenceUSA 
Home access is limited to Acton residents.
Value Line Research Center
Home access is limited to Acton residents.
Children Britannica Learning Zone (early childhood)
Britannica Online School Edition (Elementary, Middle and High School levels)
Infotrac Junior Edition
KidsInfoBits
World Book eBooks
Home access is limited to Acton residents.
Community groups Minuteman Community Information Database
Computers/Technology Safari Books Online (Consumer Technology & Basic Programming collections). Home access is limited to Acton residents.
Consumer information ConsumerReports.org
Home access is limited to Acton residents.
Consumers' CHECKBOOK (Boston edition)
Library access only. No home access.
Country studies Britannica World Data Analyst
E-books and E-audiobooks Overdrive (Minuteman Digital Catalog)
Safari Books Online (Consumer Technology & Basic Programming collections). Home access is limited to Acton residents.
Education and career Educator’s Reference Complete
Testing and Education Reference Center
Home access is limited to Acton residents.

 

Encyclopedias Britannica Online School Edition (Elementary, Middle and High School levels)
Britannica Online Public Library Edition
Brtiannica Online Public Library Edition Kids
Britannica Spanish Reference Center (Enciclopeida Moderna & Escolar Online)
 
Genealogy Acton Memorial Library Civil War Archives
American Ancestors (NEHGS)   
Library access only; No home access
Ancestry Library Edition
Library access only; No home access
WorldVitalRecords, a MyHeritage Company
Home access is limited to Acton residents.
General reference Academic Onefile
Gale Virtual Reference Library
General Onefile
Global Issues in Context
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Powersearch Gale databases
Health and medicine Health and Wellness Resource Center
Health Reference Center Academic
Nursing Resource Center
History Acton Memorial Library Civil War Archives
Acton Memorial Library Early Town Records
Annals of American History
Massachusetts History Online
U.S. History in Context
World History in Context
Languages Mango Languages
Law Social Law Library
Library use only. Please see a Reference Librarian for access.
Gale Legal Forms: Massachusetts
Home access is limited to Acton residents.
Library catalogs Minuteman Library Network Catalog
Massachusetts Virtual Catalog
Massachusetts library networks
WorldCat.org
Magazine and journal articles Electronic Journals, Magazines and Newspapers Finder
Academic Onefile
General Onefile
Gale Powersearch
Music Freegal Music
Newspapers Access NewspaperArchive
Home access is limited to Acton residents.
Acton Memorial Library Newspaper Archive (Acton Beacon 1945-1975), Acton Enterprise (1890-1937), Concord Enterprise (1888-1963)
Library use only.
The Beacon (2005 - to date)
Home access is limited to Acton residents.
Boston Globe (1980 - to date)
New York Times (1985 - to date)
Proquest Historical Newspapers U.S. Select National Collection
Home access is limited to Acton residents. Full page images from the Boston Globe (1872-1981), New York Times (1851-2009), Arizona Republican (1890-1922), Atlanta Constitution (1868-1945), The Baltimore Sun (1837-1986), The Christian Science Monitor (1908-1998), Cincinnati Enquirer (1841-1922), Detroit Free Press (1831-1922), Hartford Courant (1764-1986), Indianapolis Star (1903-1922), Los Angeles Times (1881-1988), Nashville Tennessean (1812-1922), New York Tribune (1841-1922), Newsday (1940-1984), St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Wall Street Journal (1889-1994), Washington Post (1877-1995)
Proquest Historical Newspapers Graphical Interface (includes all of the titles listed above except the Arizona Republican).
 Science APS Journals Journals of the American Physical Society.
Library access only. No home access.
Science in Context
Test preparation Testing and Education Reference Center
Home access is limited to Acton residents.

Funding for online databases is provided by: The Acton Memorial Library; Acton Memorial Library Foundation, Inc.; The Minuteman Library Network; the Massachusetts Library System; and the Boston Public Library with funds provided through the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.        

Problems logging in?  Please call the Reference Department at 978/929-6543, or email us at: reference@acton-ma.gov.  When e-mailing, please provide your Minuteman library card number.